Access your Plan to Eat Friends by clicking on the Friends tab in the Recipes section. At the top of this section, you will see a pull-down menu to select a specific friend's recipes.



Once you are viewing your friends recipe, you can save them to your Recipe Book by clicking on the heart icon at the bottom right of the recipe card. When saved, the heart will be yellow.

To remove recipes from you have saved from friends, you can click the heart icon again. 

There are a few things to keep in mind when looking at your Friend's recipes:

1. You can only see the recipes from your friends that they have not marked Private.


2. You can only see recipes from your friends that belong to them. 

All recipes that are "owned" by other Members are indicated by a yellow box containing their username in the recipe listing. You will not be able to see recipes in your friend's Recipe Book that belong to their friends. Below is an example of a recipe that belongs to my friend Christopher that he added to her Recipe Book from 100 Days of Real Food. I can see Christopher's public recipes, but I can't see Christopher's Friend's public recipes.


3. Recipes that do not belong to you require that you unlock the directions.

Directions can be unlocked by visiting the original website. Simply click on the link provided in the recipe, pay a quick visit to the original website, and the directions will immediately be unlocked in the Plan to Eat recipe from then on. We include this step so that the original recipe author, the person on the other end of the internet who put a whole lot of work into creating this recipe, gets a little appreciation, and so you can know who they are. 

4. You cannot edit your Friend's recipes.

You can Save recipes from your Friends to your Recipe Book and use them just like your own recipes, but you will not be able to alter that recipe. While this recipe belongs to your Friend you will be able to exchange comments with one another.

To edit a recipe that belongs to a Friend you will first need to make a copy of that recipe into your Recipe Book. Once you are working with a copy of this recipe you will no longer be able to exchange comments.



 

5. Your Friends Menu's

You can also plan your Friend's saved Menus. From your Planner, navigate to the Menus tab and use the "Friend Menus" pulldown to select a Friend who has Menus you'd like to plan. If you do not see any menu's in this list, none of your friends have menu's saved.

You can drag and drop your Friend's menus to your Planner, just as you could your own. The recipes will only be listed in your Planner for that one entry, and not saved to your Recipe Book. If you'd like to Save those recipes and that Menu, you can use the Edit Planner feature to save the Menu and those recipes will be saved to your Recipe Book. 

 

You can learn more about Menu's, by viewing this article: Edit Planner